Android ViewMap example – a beginner’s very basic observations

April 9, 2011 at 2:29 pm Leave a comment

Hi,

I’m just got an eclipse project containing code coming from http://developer.android.com/guide/tutorials/views/hello-mapview.html but with slight changes. I wanted to run it here to help with debugging some problems. As I had never written an android project I had some very basic “insights”.

  • I had to generate my own MapKey. I got the information for that from: http://code.google.com/intl/de-DE/android/add-ons/google-apis/mapkey.html . For now I only got a MapKey for my  debug.keystore . You need keytool for it and it’s part of the Oracle SDK within the bin folder
  • Sometimes I might have executed the main.xml that produced an main.out.xml. I had to delete that, when it was there.
  • I wanted to have a look at the main.xml. It was not perfectly formatted. As I wasn’t sure whether it was correct on an XML-level I ran Source/Format on it. Then I was able to see that it was actually correct.
  • I had an error symbol on my project and I could run it. There were, however, no errors indicated in the log. So I ran Project/Clean and it got rid of the problem. (From: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3638660/undefined-error-when-trying-to-run-android-tutorial-form-stuff )
  • Then I had the error log: No command output when running: ‘am start -n google.map/google.map.HelloViewMap -a android.intent.action.MAIN -c android.intent.category.LAUNCHER’ on device emulator” specifically

eclipse.buildId=M20100909-0800java.version=1.6.0_24java.vendor=Sun Microsystems Inc.BootLoader constants: OS=win32, ARCH=x86, WS=win32, NL=de_DEFramework arguments:  -product org.eclipse.epp.package.jee.productCommand-line arguments:  -os win32 -ws win32 -arch x86 -product org.eclipse.epp.package.jee.product

ErrorSat Apr 09 15:56:54 CEST 2011No command output when running: 'am start -n google.map/google.map.HelloViewMap -a android.intent.action.MAIN -c android.intent.category.LAUNCHER' on device emulator-5554
com.android.ddmlib.ShellCommandUnresponsiveException	at com.android.ddmlib.AdbHelper.executeRemoteCommand(AdbHelper.java:408)	at com.android.ddmlib.Device.executeShellCommand(Device.java:276)	at com.android.ide.eclipse.adt.internal.launch.ActivityLaunchAction.doLaunchAction(Unknown Source)	at com.android.ide.eclipse.adt.internal.launch.AndroidLaunchController.launchApp(Unknown Source)	at com.android.ide.eclipse.adt.internal.launch.AndroidLaunchController.clientChanged(Unknown Source)	at com.android.ddmlib.AndroidDebugBridge.clientChanged(AndroidDebugBridge.java:867)	at com.android.ddmlib.Device.update(Device.java:398)	at com.android.ddmlib.Client.update(Client.java:834)	at com.android.ddmlib.HandleAppName.handleAPNM(HandleAppName.java:90)	at com.android.ddmlib.HandleAppName.handleChunk(HandleAppName.java:64)	at com.android.ddmlib.MonitorThread.callHandler(MonitorThread.java:414)	at com.android.ddmlib.MonitorThread.processClientActivity(MonitorThread.java:322)	at com.android.ddmlib.MonitorThread.run(MonitorThread.java:263)

.  http://www.anddev.org/sdk-adt-emulator-problems-f16/unparsed-aapt-errors-check-the-console-for-output-t12615.html told me to just delete it or clean the project.

I’ll publish this now and might come back later

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

VLC increase volume over 200% wsdl webservice from Outlook Web App

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 16,203 hits

